District Mayoral Awards






The Executive Mayor of Gert Sibande District Municipality, Councillor Mishack Nhlabathi will host the annual Gert Sibande District Municipality's Mayoral Excellence Awards (MEA) on 23 May. The event will be held at the District offices in Ermelo, Mpumalanga from 10am.

Last year's Mayoral Excellence Awards were held in the District's offices in Ermelo, Mpumalanga, and featured prominent recipients like Bafana Bafana midfielder May Mahlangu who plies his trade in Sweden, Orlando Pirates defender Rooi Mahamutsa, Opera singer Chris Kambule who has performed in overseas countries like Italy and rugby referee Dr Mark Lawrence who officiated at the 2003 and 2007 Rugby World Cup tournaments.

The District's top students were also honoured during that night of glitz and glamour. Mpumalanga's MEC for Community Safety, Security and Liaison, Vusi Shongwe was honoured with a Special Award for an outstanding performance in his department, which received a clean audit.

 The Mayoral Excellence Awards are made in two parts. The first are the discretionary awards presented by the Executive Mayor, Councillor Nhlabathi, and the others are the awards made to deserving community members for their outstanding achievements. Community members are nominated by members of the public.

 Those community members who will be nominated are from all the seven local municipalities that fall under Gert Sibande District - namely Msukaligwa, Dipaleseng, Mkhondo, Lekwa, Chief Albert Luthuli, Dr Pixley ka Isaka Seme and Govan Mbeki, respectively.

 If you know of outstanding work or achievements made by the community members from within the Gert Sibande District, you are requested to nominate these individuals by completing the requisite nomination forms.

These forms can be obtained as outlined in the contact details provided in this advert.

Kindly note the rules and procedures related to these awards.




1 Community Service Honours an individual/organisation for outstanding performance which has contributed to community service
2 Crime Prevention and Creation of a Safe Environment Honours an individual/organisation whose performance in the fight against crime is considered exemplary by the community and peers.
3 Sport and Recreation Honours an individual/organisation for outstanding sport achievement/ or for exposing and nurturing talent in sport.
4  Woman Achiever Honours a woman, who in her chosen field, through her determination and dedication, has succeeded despite the gender inequalities in their community.
5  Successful Person Living with Disability Honours an individual who, through determination and dedication, has succeeded despite the challenges faced by people living with disabilities.
6  Clean Environment Honours an individual/organisation for contributing in the creation of a clean, healthy and safe environment.
7  Wealth and Job Creation Honours  an individual/organisation who through his/her or their determination and dedication has/have contributed to the creation of jobs and an environment for economic development  and or upliftment.
8  Youth Award For young individuals who have made a positive impact within the community
9  Tourism Award In line with the Municipalities drive to build on the tourism industry, recognition is given to individuals or organisations that are active in the fields of accommodation, restaurants, tourist attractions /products, entertainment, Tour Operators, media productions that have relevance to the tourism industry.
10  Citizenship Award For distinguished voluntary service which has had a significant impact on the community in which they conduct their voluntary work
11  Arts and Culture: Honours an individual/organisation for outstanding arts and culture achievement/ or for exposing and nurturing talent in arts and culture.
12 The Advocate: HIV/AIDS Individuals nominated must be District residents, who have demonstrated exemplary commitment to HIV/AIDS education and prevention through volunteerism and service


Awards made are solely at the discretion of the Gert Sibande District Municipality. The Municipality has no obligation to justify its final selection or to offer reasons for inclusion or non inclusion of nominees into the final awards.

Nominations must be made by completing the requisite nomination forms. Members of the public who are making nominations must refrain from creating an expectation on the part of the nominated person that they would be included in the final selection.

No correspondence or further motivations will be considered other than that stated on the nomination forms submitted.

All nominees must be residents of the Gert Sibande District Municipality and must live within any of the seven local municipalities i.e. Chief Albert Luthuli, Dipaleseng, Dr Pixley ka Isaka Seme, Govan Mbeki, Lekwa, Mkhondo and Msukaligwa.




NOMINATION FORMS ARE AVAILABLE AT YOUR LOCAL MUNICIPALITY AND CAN BE DOWNLOADABLE ON OUR WEBSITE. www.gsibande.gov.za: Entries must be forwarded via post to The Municipal Manager, MAYORAL EXCELLENCE AWARDS 2013 ENTRY, P.O Box 1748 Ermelo 2350, or hand delivered to: Cnr of Joubert and Oosthuise Streets Ermelo, Mpumalanga or email to: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.; Tel 017801-7176 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.; Tel 017801-7170 to reach us by the stipulated closing date.


icon Call For Nominations Forms available on this link!!


em logos


Executive Mayor
Gert Sibande District Municipality
Cllr. Mishack Nhlabathi



















  • Hits: 889